Fight the Charges - Hit and Run Collision
Among the most common charges is hit and run collision, and the sentence varies by state. Typically, it requires you to provide the other driver with identification, such as a driver's license number. However, if the other party fails to provide any of this information, the driver will face a conviction and must pay a heavy fine. A hit and run collision criminal attorney can help you fight the charges.
A hit and run collision is also a criminal offense, which can result in a driver's license suspension or even lifelong revocation. Depending on the severity of the accident, hit and run drivers may face fines and imprisonment, but they will be given some form of punishment for their actions. In addition, insurance companies will often raise the costs of their policies for hit and run drivers, or even cancel them completely.
If you're at fault in a hit and run collision, you should always call 911 immediately and report the accident. Failure to do so will put you at risk for a more severe penalty, including vehicular manslaughter. The law recognizes that you have a duty to help the injured and will be prosecuted accordingly. However, leaving the scene of an accident temporarily is not enough to be charged with a hit and run offense.
When you've been charged with hit and run collision, the next step is deciding how to proceed. If you've already been arrested for hit and run, you'll likely face criminal charges, and the courts will likely try to sue the other party. As part of the punishment, your monetary compensation will double. If you're liable for five thousand dollars, your damages will double to $15,000 - and you can't claim the extra money through your insurance company.
If you're at fault in a hit and run collision, contact your insurance provider immediately and seek compensation. You may be eligible for uninsured motorist coverage as well. Your attorney can also help you gather evidence to prove your case. The more information you can get, the better. The more information you can collect, the better chance you have of recovering financial compensation. But before you do that, make sure you contact your insurance provider as well.
In California, the Vehicle Code 20002 governs hit and run crimes. The penalty for a misdemeanor hit and run includes a year in county jail and a fine up to $10,000. If the other person was injured, the felony hit can lead to four years in state prison. But if you didn't know you hit someone, you can't be charged with a felony hit and run.
If you're a victim of a hit and run collision, you can press charges against the driver. You can do this by calling the police or calling first responders. A hit and run can happen anywhere, even a parking lot. In California, you can face a harsh penalty for your actions. In addition to the potential jail time, you may be subject to a financial liability if you don't report the accident.