Drugged Driving Laws - Tips For Preventing Accidents
A person who violates drugged driving laws is guilty of driving under the influence of a controlled substance. However, unlike drunk driving, drugged driving is often more difficult to detect. A breathalyzer test can help police determine whether a driver is impaired. Here are some tips for preventing drugged driving accidents. First, remember that drugged driving laws vary from state to state. For example, a person can be arrested for DUI even if they do not have a high blood alcohol level.
A driver convicted of drugged driving will lose his or her license for at least 180 days. However, the suspension may be longer if he or she has a prior DUI conviction or has refused to submit to a chemical test. For a second or third offense, the driver will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This can significantly increase their insurance premium. In some states, a driver can also receive treatment for drugged driving as part of the penalty.
The Office of National Drug Control Policy has declared a goal to reduce drugged driving by 10 percent in three years. It encourages states to adopt per se drugged driving laws that make it illegal to drive a vehicle with a controlled substance in its system. As of this writing, 16 states have enacted drugged driving laws. A new study, however, investigates the impact of these laws on traffic fatalities. However, there is no conclusive evidence that these laws have reduced the incidence of traffic fatalities.
While the legal definition of driving under the influence relates to alcohol intoxication, the phrase can also encompass a range of drugs, including prescription drugs and medical marijuana. If you are accused of violating drugged driving laws in California, you should consider hiring an attorney who specializes in this area of law. This criminal defense firm is ready to fight for your rights. .
A "Per Se" DUI/DWI is based on a blood, breath, or urine test result that proves a driver is impaired by alcohol. This type of DUI/DWI charge is a serious offense, and the penalty ranges between 0.08 and 0.05 grams are quite high. Regardless of the substance, a DUI/DWI conviction will result in jail time, fines, and possibly even a prison term.
Under Virginia law, a licensed driver has the right to consent to a chemical test before operating a motor vehicle. If a driver refuses a chemical test, they will face serious penalties. In addition to a $500 fine, they will lose their license for six months. In addition, a refusal can also lead to more severe penalties. For a first-time offense, a person must undergo a medical exam to determine whether he is impaired by drugs.